Damage step restrictions

    Share
    avatar
    isaac879
    Core Team Member

    Posts : 125
    Join date : 2012-04-14
    Location : England

    Damage step restrictions

    Post  isaac879 on Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:28 pm

    In the damage step monster effect that negate activations can be activated. The OCG ruling says that Photon strike bounzer can be activated, when it only negate the effect not the activation. Would this ruling be applied to the TCG? This question has been raised on the judge forum but no official answer has been posted as far as I am aware.
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:14 am

    This is wikia's ruling. Bounzer CAN be activated in the damage step, period.



    The thing is that Bounzer can only negate effects that activate-resolve on the field. So it cannot negate monsters like Gorz, Tragoedia, Fader, Veiler, Honest, Sangan, Mystic Tomato, Plaguespreader Zombie. These kinds of effects activate either in the hand or the graveyard, making them immune to Bounzer.

    So Photon Strike Bounzer = On-Field Effects ONLY.



    _________________


    avatar
    Nemessie

    Posts : 653
    Join date : 2012-04-18
    Location : Netherworld

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  Nemessie on Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:39 am

    Reaper of the Cards wrote:This is wikia's ruling. Bounzer CAN be activated in the damage step, period.



    The thing is that Bounzer can only negate effects that activate-resolve on the field. So it cannot negate monsters like Gorz, Tragoedia, Fader, Veiler, Honest, Sangan, Mystic Tomato, Plaguespreader Zombie. These kinds of effects activate either in the hand or the graveyard, making them immune to Bounzer.

    So Photon Strike Bounzer = On-Field Effects ONLY.


    Then here is another question. I activate Swift Scarecrow. Can my opponent chain Herald of Orange Light to negate it? And if yes, can I then activate another Swift Scarecrow?
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:19 am

    Yes your opponent can use Herald of Orange Light to negate it. And no you cannot use another. Herald is spell speed 2, Scarecrow is spell speed 1. You cannot chain spell speed 1 effects to spell speed 2. Actually you cannot chain spell speed 1 to anything.


    _________________


    avatar
    isaac879
    Core Team Member

    Posts : 125
    Join date : 2012-04-14
    Location : England

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  isaac879 on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:52 am

    Thanks Reaper but I know the OCG ruling for Bounzer, I wanted to know if this would apply to the TCG and if it did then why? Because as far a I know only monster effects that negate activations can be used in the damage step as well as attack modifiers and counter traps. I do know that any cards Konami says can be used in the damage step can be activated. However this is an OCG ruling and should be restricted by the game mechanics in the TCG.

    With Gorz I know it can not negate the effect to summon its self but can it negate the effect to summon a token as that effect activate on the field after it is summoned.
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:03 am

    KONAMI hasn't published any TCG rulings so far for Bounzer. So we go by OCG rulings. Simple as that.

    Topic solved and locked.


    _________________



    Sponsored content

    Re: Damage step restrictions

    Post  Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:49 am