Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Share
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:08 am

    Let's say Diamond Dude activates its effect and mills Mental Corruption. Will Mental Corruption take control of a monster next turn or not? Please provide reasoning.



    Once per turn: You can reveal the top card of your Deck, and if it is a Normal Spell Card, send it to the Graveyard, otherwise place it on the bottom of your Deck. During the Main Phase of your next turn, you can activate the effect of that Spell Card in your Graveyard (even if you no longer control this face-up card).



    Discard 1 monster to target 1 monster your opponent controls with the same Level as the discarded monster; take control of it until the End Phase.



    Last edited by Reaper of the Cards on Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:38 pm; edited 2 times in total


    _________________


    avatar
    singo94
    Supervisor
    Supervisor

    Posts : 130
    Join date : 2012-04-23
    Location : England

    Re: Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  singo94 on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:38 am

    No, because mental corruptions discarding effect is a cost and I thought if diamond dude used his effect then you don't have to pay the cost and if you don't pay the cost then you cant discard a monster that has the same level so you don't get the monster?


    _________________
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Re: Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:44 am

    singo94 wrote:No, because mental corruptions discarding effect is a cost and I thought if diamond dude used his effect then you don't have to pay the cost and if you don't pay the cost then you cant discard a monster that has the same level so you don't get the monster?

    98% correct.


    _________________


    avatar
    singo94
    Supervisor
    Supervisor

    Posts : 130
    Join date : 2012-04-23
    Location : England

    Re: Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  singo94 on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:46 am

    Reaper of the Cards wrote:
    singo94 wrote:No, because mental corruptions discarding effect is a cost and I thought if diamond dude used his effect then you don't have to pay the cost and if you don't pay the cost then you cant discard a monster that has the same level so you don't get the monster?

    98% correct.

    Nooooooo!!!! :p Also i failed to mention is it because you don't activate the spell card you only use its effect?


    Last edited by singo94 on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:46 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Don't want to double post.)


    _________________
    avatar
    Reaper of the Cards
    Admin
    Admin

    Posts : 579
    Join date : 2012-03-11

    Re: Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  Reaper of the Cards on Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:04 am

    Its effect is directly dependable from its activation, since the monster you will discard will determine the level of the monster you will take control of. If you do not discard any monster, it will effectively make the effect's resolution more "general" as no restrictions will any longer be applied, and you could take any level (or no level, a rank) monster's control.

    Bottomline, it cannot be used since it will alter the effect's resolution to something that is not allowed by the card itself.


    _________________



    Sponsored content

    Re: Destiny HERO Diamond Dude VS Mental Corruption

    Post  Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:07 pm